July 2015 Moms
Options

Am I supposed to eat this?

Hi everyone!

I've been lurking for a while now but I think I'm ready to jump in! I'm pregnant with my first, due July 4th.

I'm also a science writer, and I'm currently working on an article about the science and history of foods that pregnant women are and especially aren't supposed to eat. I've been reading lots of forums with suggestions and recommendations, and every time I eat something different I feel like I'm googling "is X ok to eat during pregnancy?"! In my research I've found some really interesting information about the risks associated with various foods, especially with cheese. There was one article I found that said that there has been more listeria found in pasteurized cheeses than unpasteurized ones, but the recommendation is still to stick with pasteurized!

I've also heard about some very strange (to me as an American) advice that others have gotten or heard from their families. For example, a friend of mine who was born in China said her mother was told to drink wine that had rats drowned in it when she was pregnant because rats are smart animals and it will make the baby smart! 

I'd love to hear any examples or stories that you have from your own experience. Is there something you were told to eat or not to eat that really surprised you? Does your mom or grandma tell you stories about different times or different cultures that had very different recommendations for pregnancy? I'm still in the background research phase, so I won't be quoting anyone or anything, and if nothing else I thought it would be an interesting discussion!

xx

Re: Am I supposed to eat this?

• Options
    Wish I could help you, but most of the things I've heard are fairly standard and nothing weird! Definitely weird about the wine with rats!!! How awful! We still have plenty of time to hear stuff so if I do, I'll let you know!

Mother of 4 beautiful babies - soon to be 5!
    Mikey - 11/08/2000
    Eden - 02/23/2003