Trouble TTC
Options

Advice needed please

I appologize as this may a dumb post and I'm not necessarily having trouble ttc but would appreciate expertise advice from you ladies.

I am new to this so could appreciate some insight. I took ovulation tests and they were positive on day 20 and 21 of my cycle and those days we had intercourse. My cycles are normally 28 days. Now it's day 32 and I haven't gotten my period but had light brown spotting yesterday. I took a pregnancy test and it was negative this morning. Could I be pregnant and it's too early OR due to late ovulation in cycle does that mean my cycle length will be longer? Sorry if these are dumb questions as I'm new to all this.

Re: Advice needed please

• Options

Was your ovulation test a digital or a line test? I ask because the line tests can be really hard to interpret and leave the analysis up to you, which increases your chance for human error (misread). I used the line tests for about 5 months or so, but when I switched to digitals, which I used for over a year, I found that I actually got VERY consistent LH surges, which I could never pick up on using the line tests... what looked like a positive might not have been, but then the next day, a very faint line, the next day, something darker... etc. Confusing. I suggest using the Clearblue Advanced Ovulation tests, or trying a fertility monitor.

Anyway, ovulation on day 20/21 with a 28-day cycle sounds strange, but perhaps you have a very short luteal phase, which can be a big problem.

As for being pregnant... you took a test on CD32, it was negative. You're not pregnant at this time. Try again in a week, or be in touch with your doctor if your period doesn't show for 60 days.

TTC since March 2013

HSG: Sept 2014, clear tubes

Dx: MFI - Low motility, morph, count (Aug. 2014); Hypothyroidism (May 2015)

Moved to IUIs October 2014

IUI #1 w/ injections:  Nov 2014- BFN

IUI #2 w/ injections:  Jan 2015- BFN