Miscarriage/Pregnancy Loss
Options

Triploidy

hi everyone, I have been away a few weeks since getting a call about our testing right before Christmas.
My doctor said the testing showed that our baby had triploidy, meaning that every chromosome was 3 instead of two. She wouldn't have survived and almost every time their is a miscarriage in the first trimester- although we don't know why I didn't experience that.

Has anyone else dealt with this?

Re: Triploidy

• Options
    I am sorry I have no experience with that but I am glad they found a reason. 

You may want to do an introduction over at Trying to Conceive after a loss and ask the ladies there. The board is a bit more active and someone may have experienced it. 

I am not sure how to say this without getting a "solicitation" warning so I guess I just say that I am not longer active on THIS site. 

• Options
    I'm sorry for your loss. I second Nikolie93, you might want to post on the TTCAL board, there are a lot of ladies there who are very knowledgeable about this kind of stuff. 

2 MC 2014/2015
    Baby #1 born 2/27/2016
    Baby #2 born 3/25/2018
    BFP 06/03/2020, EDD 02/10/2021

Anniversary
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    Thanks everyone! I'm not ready to head over to trying to conceive yet, I just don't want any triggers that make this harder. But I appreciate the comments!
  • Options
    Hi @CMDD, I don't know about triploidy, but I'll tell you that we were told our baby had a 1 in 12,000 risk for the exact trisomy (3 copies of a single chromosome) that he ended up having. The only reason we found out about the trisomy at all (perhaps like you) is because of the visible birth defect in the ultrasound, which ultimately led to genetic testing.