LGBT Parenting

IVF Success?

Hi everyone,

I was hoping I would get some responses to my questions bellows...

1.  What led you to IVF?

2.  How many IVF procedures before a pregnancy occurred?

3.  Were you diagnosed with any fertility issues?

4.  How many eggs did you opt to put back in after retrieval?

5.  How many babies did you end up with from one IVF?

Thank you all, I am new to the IVF process so I just wanted a few details from others who have went this route.

Wishing baby dust to everyone!

Re: IVF Success?

• 1. We decided to pursue IVF after 5 failed IUIs. We were paying OOP for everything, and with the cost of sperm and meds included had paid about $8k OOP for our 5 failed IUIs. We had one vial of sperm left. With met with our RE and she said well, you could do a 6th IUI and if it doesn't get you pregnant, you can buy more sperm and think about IVF... We thought about it and we would be using our last vial plus spending almost $2k on another medicated/monitored IUI cycle. Instead we could purchase an IVF package for $6500 plus the cost of meds and a few other odds and ends (came out to about $12k said and done including storage of our embies for 2 yrs) and use our last vial and hopefully never have to buy sperm again. We took the second option. We were feeling emotionally tired after 5 failed cycles and honestly, $$$ played about 75% of the decision for us. We didn't have unlimited funds for TTC and we knew we wanted (hopefully) 3 kiddos relatively close in age. IVF made sense for us, and we didn't have any hang ups about going that route, so we charged full steam ahead.

2. We got pregnant on our first fresh IVF cycle. Very lucky and fortunate!

3. Nope. My chart says unexplained infertility for the purpose of moving to IVF, but my RE has said that she doesn't necessarily know that applies to me. It was totally a numbers game for us, and we decided to be super aggressive instead of waiting to see if we would have a diagnosed fertility issue.