High-Risk Pregnancy

Stillborn at 40 weeks 5 years ago...

Newbie here! Not sure that I really belong on this board, but looking for some Insight. My daughter was stillborn 5 years ago.. 2 days before she was due...heartbeat could not be detected so they did an ultrasound and I was told there was hardly any amniotic fluid left and I must have been leaking over time. They of course immediately induced me, and my daughter was born with an extra long umbilical cord wrapped around her neck. What actually went wrong, I still don't know. I still feel very in the dark about the whole thing-probably because I was young and in shock at the time and just didn't probe my dr for answers. Now, I'm 12 weeks pregnant again..using the same OB. However, I just requested an OB transfer because I feel like she isn't really on top of things. I guess I'm really not sure if I even have a question...wondering your thoughts on this. Freak accident? Or I may be high risk this time around? I know you all are not docs by any means and can't tell me one way or another..and speaking with new dr soon. Thanks for reading my ramble!

Re: Stillborn at 40 weeks 5 years ago...

• No experience but my heart goes out to you. And definitely switch if you are not comfortable with your current OB.
    Pregnancy Ticker

Proud Mom to Kaleigh (14yr) Emma (12yr) and Hanna (7yr)

photo 65b2d6f3-b1dd-4a2a-944b-fcb0ed878723_zpsc89c0b93.jpg
  • I didn't want to read and run.  I am so sorry for your loss. If I was you I would try another OB and find someone who is compassionate about your situation and willing to monitor you a bit more closely.  If you were leaking amniotic fluid I would ask for frequent scans of fluid throughout your pregnancy.  Whether or not it was a one time accident that happened there are things that doctors can do to give you piece of mind.
  • Loading the player...
  • Thank you guys