Miscarriage/Pregnancy Loss
Options

Re-intro. D&E yesterday.

DH and I just lost our second baby in 3 months. Our first m/c was on October 5, at exactly 6 weeks.

On Thursday morning, I woke up with some brown spotting and panicked because of PgAL brain. I honestly was just going to the OB for reassurance. She checked me, couldn't find any active bleeding, tried to locate baby's HB on doppler and couldn't. She sent me for an u/s. When baby was pulled up on screen, she was measuring tiny and I immediately knew we had lost her. She stopped growing at 8w2d. I should have been 10 weeks.

Yesterday, I went in for a D&E. As an ICU nurse, I am super anxious about medical procedures and I was terrified. The anticipation was actually the hardest part. The staff were incredibly kind and gentle with me and they explained everything in detail. I arrived at the one day surgery center an hour before my procedure and was brought back to a room. I changed into a gown, the nurse started an iv, and I got some iv fluids. While I waited, the OB came and spoke with me again. I had seen her earlier in the morning at the office for a pre-op appointment. The anesthesiologist also came in and explained which drugs he would be using. I signed some consent forms, kissed DH goodbye and got some nice sedative medication (versed for those of you who know you drugs). After being wheeled into the OR, I scooted over onto the table. The staff chatted with me while they hooked me up to the monitors. The last thing I remember was the nurse putting the oxygen mask over my face and asking me take some deep breaths. I got some propofol and was out.
I first remember waking up in PACU at 2:45 with a heating pad on my belly. I was a little dizzy, and had some mild cramping. They moved me to a recliner chair, wheeled me into post-op, gave me a snack, and I was discharged by 3:30. We stopped to get dinner on the way home.