Special Needs
Options

Dialated Kidneys

My 20 week ultrasound showed our little boy has dialated kidneys. I am not sure what this means, what it could cause after he is born, or how serious this is. I am having a follow up ultrasound at 28 weeks and was wondering if anyone else experienced this. tia

Re: Dialated Kidneys

• Options

Do you mean the ureters are dilated?  They are the tubes that drain the urine from the kidneys to the bladder.  I am an ultrasound tech and see it quite a bit.  I think it can mean a lot of different things but also it can mean nothing.  Did the tech wait for your baby to pee to see if it went away?  I have scanned many babies after they are born and the dilated ureters have corrected themselves.

hth

• Options
    imageMrs.Ivy:

Do you mean the ureters are dilated?  They are the tubes that drain the urine from the kidneys to the bladder.  I am an ultrasound tech and see it quite a bit.  I think it can mean a lot of different things but also it can mean nothing.  Did the tech wait for your baby to pee to see if it went away?  I have scanned many babies after they are born and the dilated ureters have corrected themselves.

hth

My doctor said both kidneys were dialated. The tech did not tell me anything. I learned this at my regular visit following my ultrasound since the doctor was not at the ultrasound.

• Loading the player...
  • Options

Did they say dilated renal pelvis?  That means the ureter valves aren't completely open, I think.  Usually babies outgrow it as their bodies get bigger.  My DS had it in utero, too. It didn't resolve before he was born so we went to see a urologist.  He had to go for u/s's twice and by 5 mos he's outgrown it.