Working Moms

To stay or quit

Ok ladies I try to post as often as possible and I consider this group the one I relate to most and my "home" on the bump but apologies if I am not a regular...

In a nutshell: would you continue to work if you didn't NEED your income to run your household?

My DH is basically finalizing his partnership agreement and getting a raise. It should match roughly what I earn. Maybe a little less bc we would have to pay OOP for insurance if I quit. But then again my work related costs would go away so it roughly evens out. DH says he would rather I stay home but it's up to me. I really don't know what to do. I am currently on ML with baby #2 and I am enjoying it. I also have my nanny so I'm not going insane trying to manage 2u2. My DH is ok with me keeping the nanny if I don't go back to work.

The problem is that I will never be able up get a job like this again. I am a lawyer and work for the govt. it's part time but only 80% and they won't give me less hours. If I quit I will eventually look for another job when the kids are older or right away if I find smthg close to me with much less hours. But I know I won't get paid as much and the benefits will be much less. So not sure it would make sense.

On the other hand I cannot imagine staying home and taking care of house and kids 24/7 without help. I just can't. Call me spoiled or whatever but I can't. As I said my DH is on board with keeping the nanny even if I quit. I would probably use her more for cleaning and keeping one kid while I take the other out for classes, etc...or so I can run all of the household errands. Eventually when DD is in preschool and baby is older I'll probably cut her hours but to be honest I'll probably always want some sort of help and so will my DH.