August 2015 Moms
Options

Midwife or obgyn?

Just curious who plans to use a midwife for their prenatal care? Or are you using an obgyn?
For my son I used an obgyn & I am considering going to a midwife this time. I have not made my 8 week apt yet because I'm not sure what I want to do yet. Does anyone have any experience with a midwife? If so do you recommend it over traditional obgyn prenatal care? Thanks!
Team Pink! Baby Girl due 8.2.15
BabyFruit Ticker

Re: Midwife or obgyn?

• Options
    Also, I had a c/s with my son so I am not sure if I will try for vbac or repeat c/s this time around. I know I won't be able to vbac in a natural birth center but I have the option of using an midwife for prenatal care, and assistance for vbac at a traditional labor and delivery center.
    BabyFruit Ticker
  • Options
    I am using an OBGYN, but love midwives! Last time I had precipitous labor and complications so it instantly puts me high risk this time. As a nurse, I have seen that OBGYNs are more likely to push for interventions (manually breaking your water, starting pitocin to move things along quicker) while Midwives will push for a very natural birth. Remember OBGYNs are trained surgeons and Midwives are masters or doctorate prepared RNs (very different views). But a good OB or Midwife will truly listen to your birth plan and try to help you stick to it, until you change your mind or issues evolve that require intervention.

1st DD born 1/2013
    2nd EDD 08/2015
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    I use aN OB, but I have a bleeding condition that makes me a bit higher risk. Midwives are great usually but not for me unfortunately. I do know some midwives won't take VBAC patients but it varies.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker imageimageimageimage
  • Options
    Ob cause I had a subchorionic hemorrhage with dd and was under the care of mfm and my ob
    Lilypie Pregnancy tickers Anniversary BabyFruit Ticker image image Image and video hosting by TinyPic