Babies on the Brain

Baby Fever/Thinking about TTC

kayla2536kayla2536 member
edited November 2014 in Babies on the Brain
My husband and I have been married for a year, together for almost 7 years now and are 24 years old. 

I'm a martial arts instructor and he is a carpenter and we make decent money. Not rich, definitely not poor. Still have some financial stressors, but who doesn't? We are starting to build a house with financial help from my father (he is quite "well-off"). He is basically being "the bank" for us and will sell the house to us for what it costs to build. 

I eventually want to open my own martial arts school. My boss thought that I would be opening my own school by 24/25 but I don't think I'm ready for owning my own business for a few reasons: 
- Building the house AND opening a new business? Both are very stressful/exciting moments in life, but combining them? No thanks. 
- My husband and I would like to have a child or two by the time we are 30. (Building a house, opening a new business, and being pregnant as a female business owner? Again, no thanks). 
- What if I do get pregnant when I'm in my own martial arts school and the pregnancy has complications or I have horrendous "side-effects"? There will be no other instructors to fall back on if I really need it. 
- There is another male instructor who is 36 years old, established, has children (and is done having them) and he wants to move to NC from CT to open his school. He is at a different point in his life where it makes a little more sense to go off on his own. 

So here is my thought process:
- Build the house, continue working at my boss's martial arts school for the next 2-3 years until we've at least had our first child. 
- Wait until the other instructor goes to open his own school and there is another new instructor to fill his place before I open MY school.