Blended Families
Options

going to court vs grandparents

Hi all, this is my first time posting here. I'm a SAHM to our 4 & 2 year old kids. My husband is Active Duty in the Army. Once upon a time I had a great relationship with his parents. About a week after my husband left for a 12 month deployment, his ex wife was involved in a meth lab bust resulting in the kids being taken away and going to live with Grandma and Grandpa (DH's parents).  At first they were all for us taking custody as soon as he got home. But after about 2 months with the kids, they started talking to my husband less while deployed, they mailed me a letter that said "to get on with our lives" and haven't spoken with me or our 2 kids.  About halfway through deployment, the ex wife got in a car accident and passed away.  My husband started being ignored and denied talking to his kids completely after this.  When he got home they agreed to meet up with us, and their pastor.  We all met and talked and they asked us why we wanted custody of his kids (because they are his kids?!), and basically agreed to come up with a plan to get the kids to us. After a month of hearing nothing we called them back and they told my DH to contact the kids school counselor, she suggested writing the kids letters, then making phone calls. We did this and then they said they weren't going to give the kids letters. We really wanted to be able to maintain a relationship with his parents and we thought doing so in a civil manner would be the best way. If we could go back in time we would've just gone to court from the jump. We were concerned with plucking the kids from school so that is why we tried to do it his parents way. Today we went and filed for custody and got a court date of June 10th. I guess I'm really nervous. I feel like he should automatically win, as his parents were given Temp custody, and he is the father who wants to raise his kids...(neither of us have any history of drug abuse, criminal records, heck I d