Trying to Get Pregnant

Hi! Intro and Question about Basal Thermometers

Hi! 
I'm new to TTC. I got on here early last year just looking at popular names, but now I'm actually about to try and get pregnant! I've wanted a baby for awhile but my FI decided that he's ready too. I'm super excited. 
 I'm going to get prenatal vitamins, a basal thermometer to start charting, and pre-seed, am I missing anything? I searched for the best basal thermometer on here but most of the results were from 2011, I'm wondering if the ones from Walmart or CVS are still the best? If not, which one would you recommend?
Thanks! 

Re: Hi! Intro and Question about Basal Thermometers

• I definitely recommend a basal therm with 2 decimal spots. Mabis is the favorite here, about $10 on Amazon. Welcome and good luck!
  • I also have a regular CVS thermometer and a CVS basal body thermometer. I saw shifts with both but the regular CVS thermometer was a bit more eradic (sometimes reading would change .9 degrees from first pull to second pull just seconds later) so I would at times have to guess or average out the results. I would recommend the CVS basal body thermometer though, so far it seems to be less eradic and it doesn't seem to have favorite temperatures.
    Me:31 DH: 32
    Together since 08/2008
    Laparotomy to remove 8cm dermoid cyst 07/2014
    TTC#1 since 10/2014
  • Loading the player...
  • Thank you guys so much! I was worried it was a stupid question. 
  • I have the one from target. It seems to get the job done.
    Anniversary
    Me: 27 | DH: 30
    TTC #1 since 10/14
  • I also use a regular thermometer (bc I decided to start temping last minute and didn't want to wait for one to come in the mail lol) and I've been able to see a shift.

I also recommend opks. Combining those with temping really helps narrow things down. Temping tells you after you've ovulated but opks can tell you when you might be gearing up to ovulate.

Good luck!

My Ovulation Chart