May 2015 Moms
Options

Teacher moms-how did u share

I am a teacher for 3rd grade and have been debating about how to tell my students I'm expecting.. How did you share with your students??

Re: Teacher moms-how did u share

• Options
    elee84elee84 member
    edited November 2014
    I'm not sharing yet. Will get pretty obvious soon but kids r pretty naive! They prob just think I'm fat!
  • Options
    I teach kindergarten and I told my kids this week. I had googled "cute ways to tell your kindergarteners" a few weeks ago and came across this forum of parents who were upset at how the teacher told the kids or that they didn't share the news with the parents first. I'm sure most parents wouldn't react that way, but I decided to email my parents last week and make sure they all knew first so they could tell their kids however they saw fit. By Monday all of the kids pretty much already knew, so I just told them that yes I was going to have a baby at the end of the year and that they need to be really careful around my belly. They were really cute about it. One of the girls keeps telling everyone to stay quiet because they are going to hurt the baby's ears, and they are already throwing around some AMAZING name suggestions (my favorites are Jose Jalapeño and Sparkles lol). Good luck telling your kids! They are going to be so excited for you when you share your news!
    BabyFruit Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    I'll be student teaching starting in January and I have no idea how to tell my 3rd graders
  • Options
    I teach 8th grade and I just flat-out told them. Well, I told my first period class. By lunch, the whole 8th grade knew. :)

One day I just told them that I won't be finishing the school year with them. They figured it out pretty fast then. Then one delightfully charming 8th grade boy goes "Oh! No wonder why it looks like you're getting a little, uh, big in the middle."