Infertility

Scheduled for Tubes to be removed

Hello All,

I am new to this subject so please bare with me. I am currently 29 years old and have never been pregnant. I am engaged and we have been TTC but have been unsuccessful. I went for my first ever HSG test a couple weeks ago and they found that my tubes were severely damaged and dilated. Fast forward to now, my doctor recommended having my tubes removed as well as a fibroid and then to try for IVF. He did say that there was alot of fluid in my tubes. I guess my question is, is there still hope to become pregnant through IVF. I've never been pregnant and have had years of unprotected sex with my fiance, so maybe getting my tubes removed and trying IVF is my best option. Any feedback is appreciated.

Re: Scheduled for Tubes to be removed

• Welcome :) I'm sorry you find yourself here, but this is a great group of ladies! There is definitely hope to get pregnant with IVF (check out the PAIF/SAIF boards for inspirational stories!), and getting rid of the damaged tubes will help to increase your chances with IVF. The fluid in them now is toxic and can prevent implantation, so it's good that you're getting them taken out. Good luck to you!
    image imageimage

***EVERYONE WELCOME***
    TTC #2 with assistance since 03/11
    Me: 33, Autoimmune (Hashimotos and FMS/CFS)
    Treated with Synthroid, acupuncture, TCM and supplements
    DH: 33, MFI (very low on all counts, high antibodies, hemochromatosis)
    Many treatments tried, none successful

IVF/ICSI #1 05/14 - EPP/Antagonist, Gonal-F and Luveris, 18R, 14M, 13F - SET of 1BC, all arrested on day 5 - C/P
    Genetic testing = normal, DNA Frag = excellent
    IVF #2 03/15 - Long protocol with Suprefact, Gonal-F, and possibly Luveris, adding in PICSI

• Thank you tptbabe. Where can I find those forums? 

• Loading the player...
  • Sorry for the situation you are facing. Good luck with IVF!