March 2015 Moms
Options

\

ckarris1ckarris1 member
edited November 2014 in March 2015 Moms
I work in a hospital setting and share an office with a few girls. Since I told ,my two closest girls there I was pregnant, they have gradually distanced themselves from me, leaving me from conversations, coffee runs, etc. It's not like I've been annoying in any way- I work just as hard, try to relate the same as always, never complain, and even feel afraid to talk about anything baby related. I try not to let it bother me but I spend 10hours a day with these girls and I feel like it's just ruining a big part of the pregnancy experience for me. I have nobody to share anything with at work, nobody ever asks how I am. Maybe I'm being too sensitive. I've tried bringing it up but nothing came of it. Their excuse was that they are just stressed out and preoccupied lately about other things. Any advice? How can I get these girls to be excited for me or is that a lost cause?

Re: \

• Options
    ^^ I agree 100%

And I'm an Internet stranger, but I'm happy for you! :)
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    I work at a pretty big company and tbh before I got pregnant I would distance myself from my pregnant coworkers too. It was not out of malice of any kind...its just that what we had in common kept dwindling. I felt bad talking about going for happy hour or last nights party or even weekend hikes/camping trips. And before having kids, a lot of kids stuff is just boring!! No one really cares about strollers, breastfeeding, attachment parenting, diaper choices, etc until you are in the thick of it. Even now I try to keep baby conversations at a minimum. That's what girlfriends, sisters and moms are for :). Like some pp said, ask about their lives if you wanna maintain a good work relationship and that's it.
  • Options