April 2014 Moms

Anyone Use Rosetta Stone?

I'm a teacher and will be going back to the classroom next year. Learning Spanish has been on my list for a while, since I always have quite a few Spanish speaking parents and wish I could communicate better. An add for Rosetta Stone popped up, and I started thinking that might be a great use of my time between now and when I go back to teaching in the Fall, since I could work at my own pace when baby is sleeping. So, has anyone used this program before? Any recommendations for or against? Thanks!
TTC #1 since August 2012 |  BFP August 17th, 2013  |    EDD April 25th, 2014
Living with Vestibulodynia (Chronic pelvic pain)

Re: Anyone Use Rosetta Stone?

• I absolutely love Rosetta Stone.  At my old job, we had access to the internet version.  I was learning Polish and also brushing up on German.  It never felt much like learning to me, more like a game.  I would love to get back into using it again!
  • @poru that would be awesome, though I feel like I've forgotten about 80% of what I learned! 
  • Loading the player...
  • edited October 2014
    I would love to use Rosetta Stone, but unfortunately after the $40 or so first series of lessons the next "chapters" (that's all I can think of to call them) are a few hundred bucks a pop. X(

ETA: Hm, so after this lengthy review, I'm not so sure I'd still want to go with Rosetta Stone...

https://www.fluentin3months.com/rosetta-stone-review/

A14 Siggy Challenge (November): Favorite Fall Smell
  • If you have an iPhone check out duolingo
    Mama to a little girl born July 2011 and a little boy born April 2014! Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Agree with Poru, I started with Pimsleur. Unfortunately, they have the same problem as Rosetta Stone of a ridiculous price after the first set of discs. =/

A14 Siggy Challenge (November): Favorite Fall Smell
  • Yeah...the Pimsleaur seems much more expensive. Rosetta Stone is $250 right now on sale for all 5 units.