Breastfeeding

growth spurt and pumping

I believe my LO is in a growth spurt right now, right in the middle of the work week.
How exactly does that work? All her past ones were either while I was still on leave or over the weekend.
Will my body catch up over the weekend? Am I screwed?
I'm new to all this business.
Do i need to pump more often at work to keep up? I don't even get what her normal amount is while I'm there as we speak.
Trying for our first since April 2011
BFP 10/4/2012. Due 6/11/13. M/C 11/3/12
Diagnosed Hypothyroidism 9/4/13
BFP #2 11/11/13 Due 7/24/14

Today, I am pregnant.  Today, I am happy.
Everyone welcome

Re: growth spurt and pumping

• I agree that growth spurts are "easier" to handle when I was home with LO.  I'm not sure if this is the best strategy but now that I'm working, I try to keep my pumping sessions consistent at work and just feed on demand when LO and I are back together.  It's pretty obvious that he's going through a growth spurt since he goes from nursing every 2-2.5 hrs to every hour.  I don't send more milk since I usually provide a couple of extra ounces already.  Do you have enough in your stash for LO?  If not, you may want to think about adding another pumping session in your day.  (If you don't have enough time at work, you can try before going to bed?)  Have you looked at any other strategies to up your supply?  kellymom.com has some good suggestions.  GL... I totally get how frustrating watching how slowly those pumped ounces add up.  
  • I do have stash. Around 90 oz. I was just wondering about how my supply would increase to her demands bc im not there during the day for her to increase it.
    Sadly I found out that this means she will be up at all hours of the night to eat. Haha.
    Oh well, it's what she needs.
    Trying for our first since April 2011
    BFP 10/4/2012. Due 6/11/13. M/C 11/3/12
    Diagnosed Hypothyroidism 9/4/13
    BFP #2 11/11/13 Due 7/24/14

Today, I am pregnant.  Today, I am happy.