Pregnant after 35

questions ~ flu shot and how to search forums

Hi everyone, wonerding about thoughts on getting the flu shot ~ I don't normally get it, but I understand it is recommended for pregnant women. Just not sure what to do. Thoughts and experices welcome. Also I, didn't know how to search the forums as I'm sure this has been discussed before so any advice there would be helpful. Thanks!!

Re: questions ~ flu shot and how to search forums

• I work at a hospital and get the flu shot every year. I got one when pregnant with DS and again with this one. Being pregnant is miserable enough. Pregnant with the flu? No thanks. Plus the illness can be more severe in pregnant ladies. The week I get the shot, I always feel more run-down as my body is building an immune response. But it passes, and still beats a week of being bed-ridden and feverish.

Searching forums? No idea. Sorry. I'm not good with this new-fangled intrawebs that the kids keep talking about.

**siggy warning**

Current Age 35, DH 33

Married 9/2011

BFP 8/2012, Miscarried 9/2012

BFP 9/2012, DS 6/2013

BFP 6/2014, Miscarried 7/2014

BFP 7/2014, DD 4/2015

• Hi MrsJCool :)  You can search the boards in the box to the right of this screen marked 'search boards'.

On the subject of the flu shot, I am undecided too, but am leaning towards doing without.  Pregnant women are prone to more complications from the flu (e.g. chest infections) that may require medication.  So, that suggests getting a shot.  The flu virus itself doesn't cross the placenta, as far as I remember, so your LO won't get infected if you are.