November 2014 Moms

Combatting swelling feet and ankles

What do you do to combat feet and ankle swelling? I'm 34 weeks and this just started happening. I'm a teacher-- so up on my feet most of the day. I drink tons of water all day long. I know to put my feet up above my heart-- but laying on my back to do that is uncomfortable. Any other ideas?

Re: Combatting swelling feet and ankles

• Compression socks?
  • lizzielu82lizzielu82 member
    edited October 2014
    Hi nice to meet you  :-h

Any new swelling this late in the game should be discussed with your doctor - it could mean nothing or it could mean something more serious. 

I'd recommend your OB's advice over an internet forum in this case. 
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
    imageimage
  • Loading the player...
  • I had a dr appt yesterday-- I mentioned slight swelling that goes away overnight---she wasn't concerned as that is a typical pregnancy symptom this late in the game. Pre eclampsia is sudden, dramatic, and would be accompanied by protein in urine (I have none). I'm merely asking about normal pregnancy symptomatic swelling.
  • Have you tried seriously cutting down on sodium? I've had pretty bad carpal tunnel syndrome for about a month now and dramatically reducing sodium has helped at least to some extent. I don't just mean added salt--basically anything packaged. I also started drinking a lot of chamomile tea, which is supposed to help as well.

Of course this assumes that it's just an annoying symptom, and nothing more serious.
    It's a girl! Due November 22, 2014
  • So if you can have pre-e without high BP if protein is present, but you can also have pre-e without protein, then how do you know?? I'd finally calmed myself! That stage is apparently over ;)