TTC After a Loss

Introduction

Hi Group,

I'm a newbie who has been periodically lurking since my first miscarriage right before labor day. I was 6.5 weeks along and started bleeding. I was given the "blighted ovum" explanation and given cytotec to move things along. I'm 31 and DH is 33.  It was a tough hit to take and I've been struggling with some depression since the loss but it has brought me and DH closer together in a type of intimacy that is profoundly different than we had before so I guess there's the silver lining. I've been avoiding bump message boards for a bit (not completely because I am an addict) to try to regain some aspects of my life that do not revolve solely around pregnancy or ttc.  I feel like the depression comes and goes in waves but is gradually getting better so I'm praying my initial super low-lows were grief compounded by hormone fluctuations. In any case, I am scared to get pregnant again. I have an undiagnosed autoimmune disorder (lupus-like but the doctor's can't perfectly get me in a box) and my blood tests recently confirmed I am neutrapenic. I struggle with knowing what to do since doctor's don't seem to have a lot of answers in this area and how autoimmune impacts pregnancy and early loss. This time around (god-willing) I'm going to a western ob/gyn (we'd previously selected a midwife birthing center) who will monitor the pregnancy more closely but other than that I feel pretty powerless over this whole situation and I fear that my future holds another loss. I don't want to manifest my own destiny here but it is difficult to be positive but manage your expectations at the same time.  I should probably stay off the internet and stop reading nih articles but how do you balance being informed with obsessing?

In any case, it's nice to have a group of women who understand how painful and consuming this is. Thank you ladies for being here.   

Re: Introduction

• cpedward said: