September 2012 Moms
Options

Anyone have a will?

DH and I haven't done anything legal after having DS. My parents know that if something were to happen to both of us they would get full rights to DS. However we're going on vacation out of the country without DS in December and I'm starting to think having a will would be the best idea in case something were to happen. I was looking at Legal Zoom. Anyone have experience with it? Would you go there, another website, personal attorney? TIA!

Re: Anyone have a will?

• Options
    We have a will.  The biggest reason we have one is custody vs. money.  If anything happened to us, our kids would get all our money whether we had a will or not (I'm not a lawyer, just what I understood when we met with ours).  I never want there to be any confusion on where our kids should reside, or put them through any legality so a will is the best way I can secure that for them.

We did ours through a family law firm.  However, we got a discount through a pre-paid legal program at work.  Before I decided on that, I looked into legal zoom.  It looked like a reasonable option to me.

Big Kid Jan 2010

Littlest Man Sept 2012

• Options
    I would suggest if there is money or property involved to go through a lawyer.  

We don't have one, but need to work on one before DH's transplant.  
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

tryingtogrowareddenfamily.blogspot.com

lifeofadialysiswife.blogspot.com

• Loading the player...
  • Options
    We both got wills when DS was a newborn, and we went through a local attorney. They lay out what happens if one or both of us dies, who gets our children, who handles finances and paperwork. There is a guardian and back-up guardian appointed for the kids. No way would I want to risk the fighting that could ensue over care of children and appropriation of money. We actually need to update ours in the near future bc we will change the guardian from my mom to my brother/SIL.

• Options