December 2014 Moms

Heartburn and prenatal vitamin

Please don't bash me if this has been discussed before. I am not good at the search function and I even tried the handy dandy magnifying glass and still didn't seem to get results I was looking for. So not really sure this has come up before but I'm sure it has! I've been taking the Nature Made prenatal vitamin for quite awhile now. Started on these when we began the whole IVF process and trying to conceive. Never have had a problem with them. I usually take them shortly after I eat lunch just so something is in my stomach as to avoid upset stomach. Just recently I've been having heartburn (burning from the throat down) right after I take a pill. No upset tummy or anything just heartburn. Just curious if any of you other ladies have experienced this or are experiencing this in your 3rd trimester? Right now it doesn't seem severe enough to call and ask the OB about it as it only lasts about a 1/2 hr or so and then goes away but will discuss it at my next appointment. It just seems like such a weird side effect to me for a vitamin! I'm pretty sure tums are ok to take, do you ladies take tums for heartburn? Heartburn is a new thing to me as I have been lucky and never had it until I got pregnant!

Re: Heartburn and prenatal vitamin

• 1/2 tsp baking soda in 2oz water.. takes it away in an instant! If you can get past the salty taste it works wonders :) this is what i do as i have the same problem, but the ones i take i have to take 3 times a day.. good luck!
  • ManateearmzManateearmz member
    edited September 2014
    If you're taking them right after lunch it is probably the lunch, not the vitimans.

Heartburn is really common in the 3rd tri and typically can't be avoided. Try tums.

Edited because words are hard.

imageBaby Birthday Ticker TickerBabyFruit Ticker

• Loading the player...