April 2014 Moms

WAHMs - What do you do?

I'm seriously contemplating quitting my job but I'd like to be able to contribute a little financially while staying home.

If you are working from home - what do you do? Do you like it? If you don't mind me getting personal, roughly how many hours do you put in and how much do you make?

I have a BA in sociology and I'm currently in the human services field but I'm open to almost anything. I also have a background in sales. Ideas?

Re: WAHMs - What do you do?

• I was an ER/Trauma nurse now staying at home until I find a new job since it looks like continuing to be a SAHM isn't going to work out. I've been trying to sell knitted things on Etsy but I've only sold one thing so far.
  • I have a home daycare where I watch other peoples kids. You can choose how much time you want to put into it by choosing the age you want to watch. If you want something really simple, you could do before and after care for school age kids. All you have to do is feed them breakfast in the morning, take them to the bus, then pick them up from the bus in the afternoon and give them a snack and watch them until the parents pick them up after work. You may need to help with homework. It can be difficult to get started though. It took me a little over a year to get my first child enrolled. Ido live a little out of the way though. Around here the average rate for before and after care is about $75 a week per child.
  • Loading the player...
  • I too have a home daycare.  Before DS, I worked Mon-Fri.  Now I work Tue-Fri so that DS and I have one day just for us.  I've only been back to work for 3 weeks, it's a little tougher with DS here but I'm thankful to be at home with him.  I do all day care for no more than 5 kids.  I don't make a ton of money at it, probably around 32k a year.  
    BabyFetus Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • I'm a real estate appraiser but it's hard to get in to.