1st Trimester

HcG not quite doubled - confusing information.

Hi,

This is my first time posting. I am trying to be careful not to post anything overly dramatic or things that have been asked a million times but forgive me if this falls in that category.

I had my hcg levels checked at exactly 5 weeks and they were 8533. 48 hours later, at 5 weeks and 2 days they were 13819. I was glad about this as I've ready they need to double in 48-72 hours. 

Normally, the doctor checks once more but unfortunately I am going to be across the country for one week (through my week 6). So I will not have a third blood test, nor will I have a 6 week ultrasound to check that the pregnancy is in the uterus (I will have one in week 7 when I return).

The nurse basically told me I need to look out for ectopic pregnancy symptoms because my numbers didn't double "like they are supposed to", and also said the other possibility is that I'm pregnant with twins due to high numbers.

I wondered if getting my labs done on Saturday while away would be useful and they said no, because the numbers would be different at a different lab (??). 

I felt like my numbers are normal but now I am all freaked out and worrying about every little cramp; or reading into a lack of symptoms, etc.

Any thoughts about this?

Re: HcG not quite doubled - confusing information.

• pblgepblge member
    edited August 2014