February 2015 Moms

Outed at work before you were ready?

Has this happened to anyone else?

I'm a teacher and had hoped to keep my pregnancy under wraps for the first few weeks of school- at least long enough to get through Open House and Curriculum Night so that my new classroom parents could get to know me before worrying about my maternity leave.  Well, at Open House, the mom of a former student came in and said REALLY loudly "OH MY GOSH, how far along are you???"  When I just stared at her, she started laughing, pointed at my baby belly and said "Oh, honey, you can't hide THAT!"  It ended up being fine b/c the other families laughed about it and no one has even asked me about maternity leave, etc., but I really wish she hadn't outed me so soon!  I'm planning to formally announce my pregnancy to them after my anatomy scan next month through my weekly class email.
imageimageimage
Anniversary              Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Outed at work before you were ready?

• I was planning on telling my boss at 12 weeks but had to go to her sooner because a colleague started spreading rumors that I was pregnant. This person had no reason to suspect I was she just came to this conclusion on her own. Turns out she was right, but I wasn't ready for everyone to know yet. I went to my boss and explained the situation and she was very understanding and supportive. It sucks though when you are pushed into sharing before you are ready. 
    BabyFetus Ticker
  • delaneykaidelaneykai member
    edited August 2014
    @Valentino2013 -that stinks that your co-worker would spread rumors like that! :(
    imageimageimage

• Loading the player...