January 2014 Moms

Daycare and naps

I went back to work last Monday (I'm a teacher) so LO went back to daycare.  At her daycare, she is in a room with 7 other children with two teachers in that room.  Since she's been back she has not been sleeping well at daycare at all.  We're talking two 25-30 minute naps.  She's never been a kid to sleep for a long time at nap time; at home she usually sleeps for 30-45 minutes but only stays up for 2 hour stretches.  Needless to say, our evenings have become trying.  She'll take a 45 minute nap as soon as we get home, but then the wheels fall off so to speak.  Because of her napping so little during the day and her being so tired in the evenings, we've been starting her nighttime routine at 6:15 for the past three nights.  She'll then sleep until 5:30 the next morning so I know she needs that sleep.

I'm feeling a lot of guilt - guilt for putting her to bed so early, guilt for not being able to stay home with her.  I want so badly to spend time with her in the evenings after work, but she's so tired and I know she's miserable and needs to go to sleep.  I've talked to her teachers at her daycare and they've tried several different things to get her to go to sleep.  They sometimes have to sort of rock her crib a little for 20 minutes to get her to take any naps!

Have any of you experienced these issues at daycare?  Is it a matter of her getting into a routine there and getting used to the activity/noise while she's trying to sleep?

TIA

Re: Daycare and naps

• I'm a teacher as well so I totally get the guilt of having to go back. My LO stopped napping at 6 weeks which was still on my maternity leave. March-June at daycare they were lucky to get a few 20 min nap out of her and she would be super cranky at night.

Over the summer while I was home with her we really got into a routine - bath at 700, nurse at 739 and in bed by 8. I also tried to get her napping at regular times. But she would only nap on me.