Stay at Home Moms

How do you make it work financially?

(Let me apologize in advance if this gets long!)

I go back to work in 5 weeks and am physically ill at the thought of leaving DD.  I have panic attacks about it daily.  While I do enjoy my job (most days) I would give anything to SAH with my daughter.  DH and I haven't really sat down to discuss it because he thinks there is no way we can do it financially.  I want to at least give our finances a look. 

Here is what is standing in our way: we live in a very high cost of living area and we would be giving up 50% of our income if I SAH (DH and I make about the same amount).  We would also be giving up great benefits - I get free family insurance where I work and as a teacher I get great retirement as well.  I don't know if DH would be willing to change our lifestyle very much - at least not things like giving up cable, etc.  We are also carrying about $50,000 in student loans. 

However, I'm willing to do whatever it takes to make it work.  I'm willing to do things like cutting coupons, cutting back on eating out, not buying new clothes for DH and I, etc.  We only have 1 car payment, and plan on keeping it that way as long as nothing happens to DH's car.  We're also planning on moving back to our hometown as soon as the housing market picks up (right now we'd take a huge loss on our house, which we can't afford).  Moving home would cut about $600 off our mortgage (but DH would probably take a pay cut).  Also, when we move home my mom and MIL could each watch Adelynn for a day each week, allowing me to get a part time job to bring in some money.  I could maybe even get a 1/2 day kindergarten position and she could stay with our moms in the morning.  While I don't want to put her in daycare I'd be completely comfortable leaving her with her nanas for a few days each week.