Miscarriage/Pregnancy Loss
Options

Does Anyone Else Work With Kids?

I'm a child therapist, and have been struggling with my job this week.  My clients are trauma survivors and many tell me they wish I was their mommy (this has been tough to hear since my m/c!).

I'm curious if there are any other teachers, daycare workers, etc. on this board that can commiserate.  

Re: Does Anyone Else Work With Kids?

• Options
    I don't currently work, but I can definitely understand how difficult that must be. I used to manage group homes for adults with developmental disabilities and even that was hard for me because of the relationship we had and comments that would be made. I couldn't imagine working with children and having to keep composure in the times after a loss.

I hope it gets easier for you soon. *hugs*
    Son: Jackson, 11/02/06, stillborn due to PPROM and IUGR. Over the next ten years we had 9 miscarriages from 8-14 weeks. On May 18, 2016 my daughter, Ridley, was born. We're OADNBC.
  • Options
    I am a child and youth worker for at risk teens. I have summers off as I work for the school board. Going back in September is something that I keep thinking about. I'm am not too sure how it is going to be. I know a lot of my days are filled with high stress issues. Normally this comes very naturally to me, to be the strong one, someone that they can come to and depend on. I just don't know if I'm that strong anymore?
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    I am a child and youth worker for at risk teens. I have summers off as I work for the school board. Going back in September is something that I keep thinking about. I'm am not too sure how it is going to be. I know a lot of my days are filled with high stress issues. Normally this comes very naturally to me, to be the strong one, someone that they can come to and depend on. I just don't know if I'm that strong anymore?