November 2014 Moms
Options

Vent: Work Hostilities

I am a professor in a Department that has never had a maternity leave. Ever. (Yes it is 2014).
I work with mostly men and am facing a lot of hostility.
I just came in to work to finish my syllabus and try to work with others about transitioning my courses in November and I am already in my office with the door shut in tears.

Anyone else experiencing this?

How are you handling it?

TTC #1 since 12/2010 DH: MFI, cancer survivor Me: Resected septate uterus, lap treated mild endo, tubes open, ovulate on own, autoimmune disease 3 Failed IUI's (2/2012, 4/2012, 6/2012) 
IVF #1 August 2012. BFP! Beta #1 56.7 Beta #2 150 One baby, one heartbeat on 9/20/12! no h/b @7w6d. dandc @8w0d
FET #1 December 2012, BFN
FET #2 February 2013, no embies survived thaw
IVF #2, BFP #2, Loss #2 March 2013, Scar tissue discovered, RPL testing,
IVF #3, BFP #3, Loss #3 (twins) September 2013
Hostile ute, moving onto Gestational Carrier!

GC/FET #1 of 1 5AA blast and 1 compacted blast, February 2014, BFP #4 on 3/1/2014!
6w u/s 1 bean with h/b of 145 bpm, 8w u/s 187 bpm
EDD 11/7/14. Please, please, please stick little one!

Praying unceasingly for a miracle. ALL welcome!

Re: Vent: Work Hostilities

• Options
    WOW i'm so sorry you have to deal with that.  Completley awful and how lacking in the times your work place is.  While I'm not facing any hostility at work (even though our work force is about 85% men)  we do have a form of leave that can be taken you just have to have a ton of paperwork filled out by your doctor.  Hope you are able to get everything worked out

Anniversary

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker  DIStickerscom Ticker

DIStickerscom Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    Awww man, that sucks.

I haven't had anything like that but I am very nervous about asking them to figure out a room for me to pump in.

• Options