December 2014 Moms
Options

Nurse Practitioner is Concerned About Weight Gain

I had my appointment this morning and the NP who saw me was concerned at my weight gain/how quickly I'm gaining.  I don't necessarily agree (but I'm not a medical professional).  I plan on calling tomorrow and getting clarification.

Anywho, has anyone else dealt with this?  I know that pregnancy is not a time to lose weight, but I have a hard time figuring out what/how to eat to gain weight at a pace that would be acceptable.  

(I know there have been several posts lately about weight, but most of the ones I read were about what WE think of our weight gain, not the NP/doc)

Re: Nurse Practitioner is Concerned About Weight Gain

• Options
    ksalley said:
    I had my appointment this morning and the NP who saw me was concerned at my weight gain/how quickly I'm gaining.  I don't necessarily agree (but I'm not a medical professional).  I plan on calling tomorrow and getting clarification.

Anywho, has anyone else dealt with this?  I know that pregnancy is not a time to lose weight, but I have a hard time figuring out what/how to eat to gain weight at a pace that would be acceptable.  

(I know there have been several posts lately about weight, but most of the ones I read were about what WE think of our weight gain, not the NP/doc)
    This is your first post to D14... so welcome and congrats!

I would just look at your base diet.  How many fruits and vegetables are you getting?  In the beginning I was tracking my calories to make sure I wasn' t over doing it or overdoing it on anything.  

Test
  • Options
    Yeah, I've commented here and there, but never actually started my own post!  Thanks for the welcome.  

I'm getting enough fruits, probably not quite enough veggies.  She also told me to cut dairy.  

I have a hard time knowing how many calories I actually need to maintain weight (prior to getting my BFP, I was in the process of losing weight).
  • Loading the player...