January 2015 Moms

Insensitive Comment....

So I work with college students out on a ropes course. I've been fairly sick the first couple months and honestly don't know what my limits are in regards to hauling and lifting things. I had a previous student return to work for us as an outdoor instructor and this is my first time working with him in 1.5 years.  I am out on the course today after coming in at 7am (it's not 3pm) working non-stop but not necessarily doing the heavy lifting and I'm coming around the corner and hear him say to another staff member, "Wow, Mo (me) is really milking this whole baby thing".  He was going to say more but they both saw me and immediately got quiet.  Needless to say I gave them the message like I didn't hear anything then called him over to help me with something.  I told him that I had heard what he said and not only was it hurtful but also very unprofessional since it was in front of participants on our course. I am a delayed crier so I've been pretty upset and crying for the past 10 or 15 minutes. I came back and told my boss as I'm in tears what happened and asked him to go out with Bobcat and finish taking down stuff because I didn't want to be out there anymore with the group.  Trying to hold it together. I didn't want to put something on FB so everyone could see and comment but man I just feel so upset. Why would someone say that?  Its my first baby - I don't know my limits and I AM trying to play it safe because I'm still terrified of a miscarriage and I was SO sick before.  Why would someone who just came back say something like that? I have totally lost all respect or desire to work with this kid. I will never give him a recommendation again. 

Re: Insensitive Comment....