Working Moms
Options

Resolved - thank you everyone!

rmbrjryrmbrjry member
edited July 2014 in Working Moms
I'm looking for some advice on how to respond to one of my employees. I was recently promoted to the director position (from assistant director) and we did a search for my replacement. One of the women in my office applied but we had an external candidate who we determined was a better fit. I spoke personally with the person in my office yesterday and she seemed disappointed but okay with the decision. Today she emailed me to say she was devastated, not just disappointed, but "what could one do?". I've drafted my response but wanted to run it by some more experienced managers since this is my first time delivering this type of message. Thoughts, suggestions, etc...?

I can appreciate your position and while I do know how you feel, I understand that this is little comfort to you. I can say that one of my goals for the upcoming year(s) is to work with everyone in the office to expand our skill sets. I’m hoping that once things settle down a little bit we can meet one-on-one to go over what might be helpful to build upon. Does that sound like something that might interest you? As I said, you never know what the future holds, and it can never hurt to diversify your experience.

Lilypie Third Birthday tickers 

Lilypie First Birthday tickers

Re: Resolved - thank you everyone!

• Options
    I think it reads okay but does not answer her questions. You need to go to hr and craft a message. Our hr department gets very upset when we talk to employees passed over due to it causing possiable legal issues when the upset employee claims they were discriminated against.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker BabyFruit Ticker
  • Options
    snicksnack - Our HR department isn't as strict but that's still a great point. I think I'll run my response by them and my VP before I do anything. Thanks for the suggestion.

• Loading the player...
  • Options