January 2015 Moms

Hypnobirthing or The Bradley Method

jujubean314jujubean314 member
edited July 2014 in January 2015 Moms
I'm researching which childbirth classes I'd like to take. I would appreciate input if you've had experience with either if these two methods.

A little about me first. I'm a Licensed Massage Therapist and I teach/help people to relax daily. I'm also an avid meditator.

I was thinking hypnobirthing because I'm pretty skilled in relaxation/ meditation/ altered states of consciousness and this would take it a step further. This is a 5 class series. However, I know more than just relaxation is needed for natural childbirth ;) and I've read The Bradley Method offers much on this exact subject. As well as focuses on the use of a partner as a coach. Unfortunately my husband would have a hard time taking off for most of the classes. This is a 12 class series. Time is valuable but preparing for childbirth can't be underrated.

Interested in feedback from those who have taken either course. Thank you in advanced. Light blessings to all!

Re: Hypnobirthing or The Bradley Method

• I am looking into them as well and my GF suggested Hypnobirthing, She loved it!

Lilypie Second Birthday tickers Lilypie Pregnancy tickers
  • I'm reading the Bradley Method book on my own, but don't plan to take any classes. PP is right, Bradley does heavily involve the coach (most often the husband, but it does clearly state that "coach" is used because it could be anyone). As soon as I finish reading it myself, I'm planning to work through it again with DH.
  • Loading the player...
  • Not my experience, but...