December 2014 Moms
Options

11yr old DS showing anxiety already?

I assume this is normal, but would love some advice or book/reading recommendations. I've looked on Amazon, but I'm not sure what's best and don't want to waste money.

My DS is 11 and he is really excited about the baby. However, lately he's been a little more clingy, which I don't mind! Last night was a bit extreme though. After cuddling in my bed with me for about 30 minutes or so before bed, my DS asked if he could sleep at the side of our bed in his sleeping bag. The cuddling is not normal behavior for him, but I wouldn't ever turn it away! I'm sure this is just from the anxiety of the baby coming. But, the sleeping beside our bed is definitely different and taking it to the next level. He wants to sleep there again tonight. It's almost like he's regressing, which may be normal, but I really don't know since I've never done this before.

While I certainly don't mind all of the cuddling, I don't know what to do to help him. Maybe he'll guide it all himself, but do any of you have advice based on previous experiences? Lots of the books I found are for younger kids and my DS would think I was nuts if I tried some of the things I read online.

So far, we've made sure to spend lots of time with him this Summer doing fun things: watching movies at home/theater, going to play putt-putt, batting cages, fishing, etc. So, it's not like he's not getting attention. Maybe this isn't the kind of attention he wants/needs. I'm not sure. We are also redoing the nursery, but we're doing DS's room first, so we're trying some things. I'm just not sure they're the right things.

Any help/advice is greatly appreciated!! 

BabyFruit Ticker

ttc #2 since 2004 Me (35): Stage 3 Endo, DH (34): High DNA Frag

IVF/ICSI #2: April 2014: BFP!!!!!!

ET of 2 great quality embryos. + BFP on 9dp5dt. Beta #1 (10dp5dt): 257, Beta #2 (14dp5dt): 1561,