Preemies
Options

Lurker with a Question

Hello, I hope it's ok that I pop in here and ask you ladies a question, and I thank you in advance to taking the time to read.

I have an 18 month old who was born FT, but I recently started watching an acquaintance's baby full-time. Her son was born at 35 weeks, but was already 6.5 lbs and only spent 1 day in the NICU for jaundice/bili light.

I've been caring for him for 2 months now, and I'm starting to become concerned about his development. I realize he will have some delays due to his prematurity, but he is almost 6 months (actual age) and he can barely hold his head up/control his neck. He also doesn't grasp at toys, or even make any seemingly purposeful movements (he moves his arms and legs but they're very 'twitchy' movements) He can't sit up, and even has trouble staying up in the Bumbo seat.

Is this normal? I don't want to worry his mom by bringing things like this up, and she never mentions anything about it. He goes to his regular pedi appointments, but again, his mom never says anything about his development and I don't want to upset her by bringing my concerns up with her.

Are there any exercises or activities I can encourage with him to help him along? Again, thank you for your time.
BFP#1 12/31/11 EDD: 9/4/12 natural m/c 1/11/12
BFP#2 4/27/12 ED: 1/9/13

Re: Lurker with a Question

• Options