Working Moms

WWYD as a manager

potbellypigpotbellypig member
edited June 2014 in Working Moms
Hi all,

I used to post occasional on this board until I went on mat leave. I'm back at work now.

Questions for managers out there. I am a manager and my boss is a director. I supervise a small team.

I have an employee who keeps track of my time on a wall calendar on her side of the office. When I come in, when I leave, sick time, vacation time, overtime taken, etc. This is not part of her job - it's my job to keep track of everyone's time and submit the time sheet to a clerical worker. As her manager I feel it is inappropriate for her to be keeping track of this. My director has never discussed my comings and goings during the day and knows that I am occasionally late to my office because of meetings etc. or because I take "time-in-lieu" for working through lunch/late etc. I feel I am very flexible and generous when people need time off and I don't micromanage them (i.e. I don't care if they are a few minutes late as we all have kids and lives outside of work that sometimes get in the way).

I'd rather discuss it with my employee than bring it up with my director, but I'm not sure of what to say. Or should I say anything at all? Thoughts? I definitely feel like it's disrespectful, since it's as though she's keeping track to tattle or keep tabs...and I'd like to see it stop. I also don't want to cause another issue by bringing it up...

Edit: added info

Re: WWYD as a manager

• potbellypigpotbellypig member
    edited June 2014
    Thanks @meo34, I like the wording you used on that. I'm glad to know I'm not out of line to say something. I'm still really new to my position and the HR part of my job is a huge challenge for me!

She gets back from vacation late next week. I'll let ya'll know how it goes.

Edit: added "@"
  • Loading the player...