October 2014 Moms

Help! How to sleep well

Hello, girls. I am new here. I am 23 wks pregnant. I graduated from medical school about one and half year ago, and now that I am pregnant I realize how little I actually know about pregnancy and birth! Now that my belly is a little bigger it's been so difficult for me to sleep well, I usually sleep turning to one side or facing down, obviously I can't sleep facing down anymore, but I can't either sleep tuning to one side! I feel terrible pain in my hip and shoulder, so I have to sleep facing upwards and there are times when I start coughing because my breathing is not optimal when sleeping that way, and moving is so difficult after being in that position for a certain amount of time. Plus, my husband already had sleeping disorder and besides the amount of time that he can't sleep, he wakes up everytime he feels that I have trouble accomodating my body or when I am coughing, and we are both sleeping less than ever. We are planning an appointment with a psychologist for his condition, as he has this problem from his childhood and have never treated, but for now I would like to know if you are going through something similar and what techniques do you use for sleeping comfortable. Thank you. Sorry if I use some incorrect terms, English is a second language for me.
Pregnancy Ticker

Re: Help! How to sleep well

• Welcome!

Can you try putting a thin pillow under one hip, and raising your shoulders a bit with an extra pillow or two, so that you can lay on your back but not flat, and be tilted to one side? That might help with breathing and feeling more comfortable.
    imageimage
  • Do you sleep with a body pillow or some kind of pillow? Having one between my legs makes it much easier to sleep on my side.

BabyFruit Ticker
    Lilypie Fifth Birthday tickersLilypie Third Birthday tickers
  • Loading the player...