January 2015 Moms

The FDA, Zofran, and Birth Defects

So my mom sends me https://m.thestar.com/#/article/news/gta/2014/06/25/birth_defects_blamed_on_unapproved_morning_sickness_treatment.html

last night. Now I couldn't even sleep or get my mind off of what I could have done to my baby. I'm so upset. As a nurse researcher, I am skeptical of small population reports but as a to-be new mom, I can't help but worry. I can't wait until our first full U/S to see if everything is ok.

How many of us took Zofran for this pregnancy and can we keep in touch after our kids are born? I'd be eager to see what our own stats look like.

:'(

Re: The FDA, Zofran, and Birth Defects

• There is so much wrong with that article and the way it reports I don't even know where to begin. That being said I could NOT have made it through the first trimester without the help of zofran. I still take half a tablet (so 2 mg) to get me through the night without puking. I'm sorry this article scared you. I would be more than happy to keep in touch after birth to see if perhaps there was any lasting side effect as a result.
  • @JerseyHopeful‌ i think what scares me the most is that the FDA DID just make its Side Effect database public knowledge. So these few cases probably did happen. But again, the population # may be tiny and is only based on self-reported abnormalities. But they also weren't controlling for women with past medical history issues such as cleft palate and heart defects that already ran in their family. Without a controlled clinical trial with a huge population sample, we may never know the true rate of defects.
  • Loading the player...
  • They banned Diclegis 20 years for the same thing. And after studies, it's harmless. I can't remember the name it was in the 80's but most of the birth defects were genetic issues.
  • I was on Zofran and Phenergan with DD. She's almost 4, funny, smart and healthy. She's also alive because I was able to keep liquids down due to both drugs.