Babies: 0 - 3 Months

breastfeeding question

so im very new at this, baby was born last week on Wednesday. My question is what do you do when you are going some place that it is not convenient to BF at? Some ppl say to pump before you go, but how does that work if your baby just ate? Do you still have enough milk t pump after you BF? And wont this make you produce more milk than necessary? some ppl say to give one bottle of formula and than pump when you get home? Im just confused as to how this works. I don't want to mess up my milk supply as it seems to be just the perfect amount at this time and I def want to continue to BF as long as possible. Some one tell me what the best thing to do is!

Re: breastfeeding question

• I would just nurse the baby. I nursed DS1 just about everywhere. At the mall, walking through the aisles of the grocery store, in church, meetings at work... One of the best things about BFing is that it's so convenient and you can do it anywhere and take your baby without having to worry about packing bottles or mixing up formula.
  • Loading the player...
  • This is the reason many LC's suggest not pumping or introducing a bottle until at least three weeks, unless you need to for supply or other reasons. Pumping at this point could affect your supply.

I pump early in the morning when I have excess milk and save the bottle for when I need it. Then at the time your LO takes a bottle you should pump if you can. I did not start pumping until DD was 5 weeks old though, because I actually had an oversupply issue and did not want to make it worse.

If you are planning to go somewhere and need to give LO a bottle instead of planning to pump right before you leave, pump the day before or a couple of days before. A lot of people say about an hour after their first morning feeding is when they get the most milk. I would avoid pumping at times when your LO tends to cluster feed because then they may not get enough milk and will get fussy.