Parenting
Options

Runners, I have a question.

On Thursday after my run my left shin (or muscle around the shin) started to get sore. Went out Friday and I could barely make it through. Today it's tender. Did I injure myself or is this just par for the course. I am a beginner if that helps. I took today off but really want to get a run in tomorrow, but scared I'll hurt myself.

Re: Runners, I have a question.

• Options
    Ahh, that makes sense.
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    Thanks, guys.
  • Options
    Agree with shin splints. You may be doing too much, too soon. Also, are you wearing proper running shoes with enough cushioning, without too much wear and tear on them? Finally, it's better to run along the side of the road than on the sidewalk, as the asphalt is softer than the concrete.

• Options
    vandelay said:
    Agree with shin splints. You may be doing too much, too soon. Also, are you wearing proper running shoes with enough cushioning, without too much wear and tear on them? Finally, it's better to run along the side of the road than on the sidewalk, as the asphalt is softer than the concrete.
    I do have running shoes. I have the sketchers memory foam ones. I know there're not the best but they'll do for now. I run with a jogger so I prefer to run on the sidewalk but I'm going to try the street
  • Options
    Sounds like shin splints - however, if the pain never alleviates over the course of your run, they are pretty bad. As a warning, I've had two sets turn into stress fractures. The last one took me out of any exercise for 6 months. It happened because after it was apparent they developed (from too much too soon and old sneaks) I didn't rest.

Like everyone else said - rest, ice, elevation...possibly compression.....but above all rest. Bike for a week maybe, then do a light short jog and see where you are?