October 2013 Moms

Let's talk sewing

Kimbo's BW post got me thinking about sewing. Every time I go into Big Lots, I see a sewing machine for $40. It's not a tiny little mending one, it's for real jobs. I keep thinking I want to buy it, but then I think, "will I really use this??"

I've used sewing machines a of couple times, but I'm no expert. Those who sew: did you teach yourself? Was it easy to learn? Do you use your machine so often you can't imagine not having it? Should I just shut up and buy it??
Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Let's talk sewing

• I totally would buy it just to make things for little man!

• I mostly only see things that require a straight line. Lol. But I love having it and couldn't imagine not having it.
  • Loading the player...
  • I got a decently nice machine for my 16th (?) bday and I love it! I don't use it all the time and I'm by no means a pro but I love having the option to use it and like other PPs said mending around the house is nice . I've made a few quilts, pillows, hats, headbands and lots of just random stuff over the years :) get it!
  • bionicbbionicb member
    Im scowling learning. My mom has taught me a lot and my mil is teaching me a lot as well. I just finished a satin boarder on a fleece blanket and while not perfect im very happy. Both my machines are hand me downs but for $40 I say go for it! Its a learning experience if nothing else.
    Lilypie First Birthday tickers
                                                   photo 996da08d-6a8f-4ffe-b18d-94023659b1ef.jpg
  • bionicbbionicb member
    Scowling = slowly
    Lilypie First Birthday tickers
                                                   photo 996da08d-6a8f-4ffe-b18d-94023659b1ef.jpg
  • $40 is really inexpensive for a sewing machine, but it will probably be a great learning machine. Are you able to try it out first to make sure you like how it runs?