October 2012 Moms

Fever Question

LO has had a fever since this afternoon after her nap. She is getting one of her top canines, but with any of her teeth before this she didn't get a fever. Her fever was at 101.7 after her nap which is when I gave her motrin and had her eat a popsicle with me. Her fever went down in about a half an hour. She has been super whiny and grumpy since her nap. We were doing yard work this evening with her outside being very grumpy and decided to give her some tylenol since it wasn't time for another dose of motrin. I checked her fever at that time and it was 102.0 I tried to call our pediatrician and missed them by 10 mins of when their new office hours are. 

I am new to the whole fever thing and it is scary when it is that high! Do any of you have any advice for tonight? I'll be calling the office in the morning and watching her all night hoping that it doesn't get high again. I also plan on keeping up with her medicine throughout the night. 

Re: Fever Question

• cnbv815cnbv815 member
    Thank you everyone! She seemed to be a little better before she went down. Hopefully she will feel better in the morning!
  • I agree with PPs — Try not to worry too much. My pedi told me fevers of even up to 105 aren't harmful in kids and to only give meds if they are noticeably uncomfortable. Otherwise, meds can actually interfere with the body's natural defenses for illnesses. Usually by 102, they are pretty uncomfortable, though. I recommend a dose of meds, snuggles, cartoons, and more popsicles.
    Lilypie Second Birthday tickers

• Loading the player...
  • @camivasic how is she feeling today?