Breastfeeding
Options

Plugged duct/mastitis

I have been BFing at home and pumping at work for the last 6 months. One day last week when I was pumping, blood started coming out on one side. I've never had that happen before. I had a little soreness on that side. I went to the doctor and they send a sample of my blood to the lab. They told me yesterday that nothing grew in the sample and my doctor would look over the results to see what to do from here. It could be a few days, so while I wait I thought maybe someone here may have had this experience or heard of it.

I haven't found any blood since that day early last week. That breast has been really sore, but no redness (and my doctor said he didn't feel any lumps). Yesterday that side was really achey and this morning, I have soreness in one of the duct areas, but no redness. After pumping, that one duct doesn't feel empty and hurts when I touch that area.

I don't think I have a milk blister, but I do have a white spot where the milk comes out (which I've had for about a month). My doctor saw it and didn't say anything about it. And thoughts? I am wondering if it could be a plugged duct. Everything I read, said that blood coming out would probably be mastitis, but wouldn't that show up in my test results? Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks!

Re: Plugged duct/mastitis

• Options
    I did not have mastitis, but I did have a clogged milk duct. I never bled from that breastfeeding but holy cow the pain was unbearable. It was unlike any pain I had ever experienced. It was beyond tenderness. There was a definite red bump in my nipple that was extremely sensitive. Mastitis, from what I recall, involves flu like symptoms. I don't know what it could be, but that wasn't my experience with a plugged duct. Good luck and I hope it goes away soon!
    DH & I: 29
    TTC #1 4/2009 -  DD 2/5/10
    TTC #2 since October 2011
    2IF issues
    7/2013 - IUI #1: 50 units Follistim +  Ovidrel  = BFN