Adoption

I'm new at this.

And when I say 'new', I mean new to adoption, new to the boards...but not as new to life as I wish I was sometimes! :)

I can't figure out how to do the signature thing (which is sad b/c I'm a graphic designer and should know computers a bit!), so here's my bio in a nutshell:

DH and I married in January 2010, started trying in February 2010. I was 33 when we got married and knew my mom had a really hard time getting pregnant with me (I'm an only, but not by choice), so we started quickly. A while later, went to RE and found out I wasn't really a candidate for IUI due to thin lining issues (side note: still kinda confused about that call), so started down the IVF route. 4 failed IVFs with my own eggs and 2 with donor eggs, we decided we were just done with hormones, and shots, and embryos (oh my!). So here we are! It took DH a little while longer to move on from the infertility treatments - something I'm reading seems to be fairly common. I was ready to begin adopting a couple of years ago, but we're a team and (of course) had to both be ready.

Now that we are, we are super excited...and super nervous. Not so much nervous about adopting - as far as that goes, we have just the usual first-time parent fears (namely, that we're going to to suck at it), but about all of the research and prepwork. I am NOT a researcher - definitely a fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants kinda gal, so I'll admit to a few emotional freakouts already, just at the sheer amount of work you have to put into this. And responsibility - "what if I pick the wrong agency", "what if I fail the homestudy?" Not that I'm whining - I will do whatever it takes to have that baby that God/life/fate has already chosen for us.