Working Moms

Any dental hygienists working and pumping?

I will be going back to work next month and am not sure how this whole pumping thing will work. How do you do pumping while working? With patient appts and all? TIA!
Daisypath Anniversary tickers

Lilypie Third Birthday tickers

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Any dental hygienists working and pumping?

• I'm not a dental hygienist, but I'm a mental health therapist and have patient appointments scheduled every hour all day. Pumping was very hard and stressful, but I made it 13 months, so it can be done!

I pumped in the car on the way to work every morning. I came in 30 minutes early (started seeing patients at 7:30 instead of 8:00) so that I could have a 30 minute pump break at 10:30. I pumped at lunch (12:30) and once in the afternoon around 4:00. For the afternoon pump session, I usually had to run late getting my 4:00 pm patient and had to stay a few minutes late to make up for it. Another option would be to pump on the way home.

I was able to fit in 4 pump sessions a day, but my supply was on the low side, so you may be able to get by with 3 pump sessions depending on how long your work day is. Something else that helped was getting a note from my OB saying that I needed to pump at least every 3 hours. I was getting mastitis from not pumping often enough, so I got the note from my OB, and that's how I was able to start running late for my 4:00 pm patient so that I could pump.

I would go ahead and talk with your employer and let them know that you will need to pump every 3 hours. Maybe they would be willing to let you block your schedule for 15 to 20 minutes every few hours to pump. Otherwise, you may have to just run behind getting patients. Legally, they have to allow you to pump, though, and they have to provide you with a private place to pump that's not a bathroom.