Homeschooling

Abeka, Sonlight or Alpha Omega lifepac

I am torn between these 3.  I am new to homeschooling and want to buy a boxed curriculum (everything you need for the school year).  I have 4 kids and this is new to me, so I thought a complete package would work best to help me get started.  I will be teaching Pre-K, K, and 2nd.  (I plan to do my own thing for Pre-K).  Any recommendations?  I want a curriculum that works good for teaching multiple children.  I also want to be able to use the materials from my oldest for his younger siblings (with the exception of their workbooks of course).  I hope they don't change the curriculum so that you can't use previous parent guide books.

Re: Abeka, Sonlight or Alpha Omega lifepac

• Mama-BearMama-Bear member
    edited April 2014
    If you're torn between them just because they're packaged, there's also MFW (with MFW you have to buy math and LA, but they have recommendations) and BJU.  I don't know much about AO, and very little about Abeka.  Sonlight (and MFW) are both literature based (Sonlight more than MFW).  Much of your teaching will be through the literature in the program.  A big difference between Sonlight and MFW is that with Sonlight you buy all of the books, with MFW you check many out from the library (and the IG won't tell you to read page x-x in book y like Sonlight will, you're just supposed to pick up and read what your kids are interested in).  MFW seems to more easily combine a larger age range, 2nd grade-8th grade I believe, but at the convention we went to it seemed very light.