Working Moms
Options

intro and need some advice

Hi ladies!
I am new to this board and you seem like my type of people so I wanted to intro! 
I am a new mom to a 6 week old boy- I am also an ER doctor. I am going back to work in about a month- my husband works a regular 9-5 (with lots of flexibility) and we will have a nanny come during the day while he's gone. My hours are very unpredictable and random- comprised of days, evenings, nights, weekends, holidays- theres no rhyme or reason. I could have a random weekday off, work a couple of nights, work on a Sunday, then do a couple of day shifts- you get the idea.

Anyway- I love being home on maternity leave with my baby. The idea of going back to work is giving me a pit in my stomach. Its not that I dont think I can be away from my son for hours at a time (don't get me wrong, I am crazy about him!) , its more that I've enjoyed the freedom of having an open schedule- I can schedule doctors appointments, visits with friends, family, etc without thinking twice. I'm enjoying being able to plan fun meals and cook every day. I'm enjoying being able to take long walks with him, go to the gym when my husband is watching him, etc.  And my job has some negative aspects which I've enjoyed being away from (rough hours, stressful environment, difficult patients)

At the same time, I could never imagine myself to be a stay at home mom- I know I'd be bored and don't like the idea of doing kiddie stuff all day every day.  To be honest I think our nanny (who is very experienced and awesome) will do a better job of doing all of those kiddie things and entertaining my son than I could! I find my job to be very intellectually stimulating, exciting, and a part of who I am, despite the negative aspects.    My job also offers amazing pay and benefits, as well as the flexibility to swap shifts and as mentioned, random time off which I may not get with a traditional 9-5 (though again- working some weekends and holidays is the tradeoff)