May 2014 Moms

Anecdotal Cesarean Advice

I had my 3rd cesarean section last Saturday, and wanted to share my experiences.  I know some of you are planning cesareans, or know they're a possibility; some of you are not planning on them, but may end up with one anyway.  So I figured I'd write out what I've learned from the last 3 surgeries in case anyone is curious (or other previous cesarean folks want to chime in).  

Disclaimer: I am not a medical professional.  All of this is anecdotal from my experiences, and everyone is different in how they process surgery and recover.

What kind of cesarean are you having?

Many people I've talked to are familiar with the vertical incision vs. bikini line cesarean.  At this point, the vertical incision is almost never used except in the absolutely rarest of circumstances.  However, there has been a new version of the bikini cesarean developed during the last 7 years that many people are not aware of.  Not all OBs practice it, but it makes a HUGE difference in recovery time. The difference comes from whether the abdominal muscles are cut (the old method) or spread (the new method).  Everyone I know who's had their abdominal muscles cut has had an absolutely abysmal recovery time. When my mom had her cesarean, we rented a hospital bed for the house because she couldn't sit up on her own for weeks.  I know people who've had a cut cesarean as recently as 6 years ago, and my OB tells me that it's still common practice in many areas.  

I've had 3 cesareans with the abdominal muscles spread each time.  I've been able to sit/stand/walk on my own within hours of each surgery.  This is not to say that the spread method has no recovery time or that you bounce back right away, but there is a significantly different recovery curve.  Regardless of whether you're planning a cesarean or not, I'd ask your OB which method they practice so you can make appropriate recovery preparations.

Anesthesia