Cloth Diapering

Building your stash.

I have been researching all different types of CDs and I would really like to find a good AI2/Hybrid (Correct me if those are actual two different kinds, I'm new to this) to check out. 

Please also list favorite types/brands/links/prices and whether snaps or H&L are better... all for the first 6 months of babies life! Thanks! 

Re: Building your stash.

• Babies fit in newborn diapers for the first few weeks. One size starts fitting at 10-12 pounds and usually last until potty training. So there isn't really an AI2 I can think of that you can use straight from birth.

For OS I like Flips, and lots of people like Best Bottoms.
    imageimageimage
    imageimage
    Suddenly my life doesn't seem such a waste,
    It all revolves around you.
  • The best AI2 for the NB stage is actually prefolds or flats and covers. Like ITK said you need NB size for the first 2-6 weeks depending on your baby's size (more chunkiness of thighs not weight related).

The nice thing about prefolds/flats with covers is they are cheap. There is a bit of a learning curve, but once you get through the first day or two you'll be a pro. If you use a snappi, boingos, or pins you'll need around 15 diapers and 3 covers to wash every day, twice that to wash EOD.

I like Best bottoms the best as far as true hybrids go for the OS stage, but I also really like a tri-folded prefold or flat in a cover too.

I prefer aplix(Velcro) for the NB stage because you can get a better fit. I like mostly snaps for the bigger sizes because they hold up better and my little guy can open aplix.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

image imageimageimage

• Loading the player...
  • km_mdkm_md member
    I've only used Apple Cheeks AI2s and while I do really like them, they still don't fit my 2 month old perfectly because she is a skinny little one, so probably not the best unless you have a big newborn.