October 2013 Moms
Options

NBR vent/Dear Diary Post

Kind of being an AW but I am just am so pissed. I am a fully credentialed teacher and even though I am SAHM I have continued with keeping my certificate current. Anyways I just did a assessment on a third grader this week that needs a lot of help in all subjects. He is being considered for retention. His parents contacted me via care.com and I did my free first session to see if we are a good fit. I felt I could help him so let them know my rates and they told me they would have to think about it. I just got an e-mail telling them they would love to hire me but they can only pay 10 dollars an hour! WTF?!? I pay my 15 year old babysitter 10 bucks an hour. I am a college educated fully credentialed teacher driving to your home to tutor your kid and you want to pay me ten dollars an hour. I am so frustrated and offended right now I can't respond to their e-mail yet. Anyways I just needed to vent and can't wait until wtf Wednesday. Please feel free to vent about something here as well OR help me write a response to their insulting offer.
Charlotte 12.3.09
Madeline 6.24.11
Eleanor 9.30.13

Re: NBR vent/Dear Diary Post

• Options
    I tutor for Sylvan and our rate ranges from $15/hr for 1-2 kids to $30/hr for 7-8 kids at an after school program. One on one in their home should get way more than $10!

I'd explain that to them, counter and like pp said, walk if need be. Your time is worth more than that.
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    I left them with my info at the first session, I have a fee schedule that I leave with all my clients that includes the area average as well as the cost of sylvan and kumon.

I do feel that they are ignorant of the situation but if my kid was going to possibly be held back and have to repeat a grade I would definitely willing to pay more then 10 bucks an hour for my kid to get some help.

@ReginaGeorgeissofetch‌, I am so
    glad you find this interesting.
    Charlotte 12.3.09